Sunday, February 07, 2016

Superbowl Fifty (50)

I was here in North Carolina when Charlotte was awarded a franchise known as the Panthers. What a feeling to go out and get your first Carolina NFL sweat shirt after years of being subjected to the Washington Redskins as the home team.

Back then, you could sign up to get the rights for what amounted to over 2,000 dollars per seat for a PSL (seat license). Being a big sports fan I considered the idea, but the price was outside of my comfort level.

The early days of Panthers football was lead on the field by head coach was Dom Capers.  He made the expansion franchise look pretty good for the first year. Kerry Collins from Penn State was the Panthers first franchise QB.

With any expansion franchise it comes down to the players and the team that come after the early years.  Well, they did put a team together well enough that under head coach John Fox they made a run at the Superbowl trophy. But, they came up short in the championship game.

Fast forward to 2016, and under head coach Riverboat Ron and a new General Manager they are playing for their first Superbowl championship this Sunday.

WR Ted Ginn, Jr. Devin Funchess Kevin Norwood
LT Michael Oher Daryl Williams
LG Andrew Norwell Chris Scott
C Ryan Kalil Fernando Velasco
RG Trai Turner Chris Scott Fernando Velasco
RT Mike Remmers Daryl Williams
TE Greg Olsen Ed Dickson Scott Simonson
WR Philly Brown Jerricho Cotchery Brenton Bersin
QB Cam Newton Derek Anderson Joe Webb
FB Mike Tolbert
RB Jonathan Stewart Fozzy Whittaker Cameron Artis-Payne Brandon Wegher

LDE Charles Johnson Kony Ealy Mario Addison
LDT Star Lotulelei Kyle Love
RDT Kawann Short Dwan Edwards
RDE Jared Allen Ryan Delaire
SLB Shaq Thompson A.J. Klein
MLB Luke Kuechly Ben Jacobs David Mayo
WLB Thomas Davis A.J. Klein
LCB Robert McClain Cortland Finnegan Lou Young
RCB Josh Norman Teddy Williams
SS Roman Harper Dean Marlowe
FS Kurt Coleman Tre Boston Colin Jones
K Graham Gano
P Brad Nortman
KO Graham Gano H Brad Nortman
PR Ted Ginn, Jr. Robert McClain
KR Fozzy Whittaker Joe Webb
LS J.J. Jansen
 Inside Report